12B Magazine Spread Project

Process
The magazine spread project is to write and design a two-page magazine spread for the Ensign or New Era (magazines of the LDS Church). I chose to write for the Ensign and decided to write of an experience I had that taught me about how the Lord answers our prayers and guides our lives through His omniscience. My audience is youth and young adults who are entering the major decision-making portion of their lives.

Once the story was written, I made a couple of sketches that I felt best complemented the message that I was trying to convey. I then selected pictures that suited the layout of my favorite sketch and then I made a frame map that would prepare me to create the magazine spread in InDesign.

7A Sketch layout

Keys
Restroom
Woman in prayer

12A_Wireframe-LaceyAnnDennis

Once the wire-frame was done, I was able to create my magazine spread!

Critique Report
I received critiques from my instructor Kristen Larson as well as from several of my classmates, Nancy Wells, Lisa Hauck Wilkinson, Steph Dee, and Jessica Noelle Brewer. Sister Larson advised me to drop my drop shadow and to watch for hyphens, widows and orphans. Both she and Nancy Wells suggested that I make sure my images were not touching the text and that I add a byline. Lisa Hauck Wilkinson advised that I move the center picture to prevent it being chopped off. Jessica Noelle Brewer advised that I fix my margins between columns so that they were at least an inch in the center. I changed the drop shadow to an innershadow because I thought the text still needed some enhancement. I added the byline and reworked the layout to adjust the margins and the appearance of widows and orphans. I did not move the picture because I liked it best in that position.

This was the final result!

Color Scheme
Split Complementatry (Teal, Red, Orange)

Fonts/Category
Title: Lucida Handwriting/Script
Title: Arial/Sans Serif
Body: Times New Roman/Oldstyle

Images
Praying woman

Keys

Restroom

Leave a Reply

