Benefit Flier Project

5ALacey-AnnDennis-page-001

This is the flier as created in Microsoft Word.

5ALacey-AnnDennis Screenshot

PROCESS
My message was an appeal to support a benefit concert in aid of a children’s hospital in Jamaica. My target audience was middle to upper class Jamaicans. I searched for an image that would represent typical Jamaican children. Initially, I sought for images of thoughtful children but then decided that a happy child would be more inviting to the target audience. When I found the image of this happy little girl, I was thrilled. I chose a blue-orange color scheme because I thought the bold colors go well with the black and white image. I positioned the title so that it appeared that the little girl was laughing because she was looking at the name of the proposed event.

CRITIQUE PROCESS
My critiques came from class members on Facebook and my instructor Kristen Larson. Paul Duhacek suggested that I move the body copy to the area so that the girl’s eyes were directed toward it. Connie Chatelain suggested that I use only one colour for all the text inn my date and time area to prevent a “jumpy” feel. Nancy Wells and Steph Dee both commented that the white font of my body copy was difficult to read. Sister Larson suggested that I use only blue as a monochromatic colour scheme. She also suggested that I align the date time and place with the body copy.
I attempted to flip the picture to have the girl’s eyes focused on the body copy but that did not work as the flipped image did not have sufficient room to accomodate the body copy. I decided to embrace her looking at the title. I added lines above and below the title for a repeating element. I aligned the date time and place with the body copy. I also moved my website address from the original lower right corner to above the date. I also changed the color of the text in my body copy and changed the color scheme to blue.

Link to image source

Font Name/Category
Title – Cambria/Oldstyle
Copy – Arial Black/Sans-serif

2 thoughts on “Benefit Flier Project

  1. Hey Lacey-Ann!
    I think your project turned out better than how it was in the first place. I can tell you’re getting the hang of it. However, I would move the title a tad down so that the spacing between the top and bottom are the same. I liked how you made the top of the title smaller than the rest of it; it’s a unique idea that works. Overall good job! Check out Carrie Fort’s flier design: https://fishtalesandwords.wordpress.com/2016/02/04/event-flier-project/
    Also, I would like you to take a look at mine, I’d love to know what you think:
    https://lorena4793.wordpress.com/2016/02/05/5a-event-flier/

    Like

Leave a Reply

